#37 Oleg Markov

This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

lazzadesilva
Been liked: 51 times

Post by lazzadesilva »

K wrote:Just admitting reality doesn't have to make folks unhappy.

Seems like a lotta folks believe their duty is to pretend everyone at the Pies is perfect in every way. Why? Imperfection can be loved too.
Bah.…………………! To me, every time we win the flag, it is utter perfection
I term the current Collingwood attack based strategy “Unceasing Waves” like on a stormy and windy day with rough seas. A Perfect Storm ☔️
Pebbles Rocks

Post by Pebbles Rocks »

Perfection only lives in moments.
"You must be a parking ticket, cuz you got fine written all over you" Glen Quagmire
Take_a_Screamer
Been liked: 12 times

Post by Take_a_Screamer »

‘I’m not Tom Cruise’: How Markov’s authenticity shone through
Oleg Markov has never wanted to be anything he’s not.

https://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/news/1 ... ne-through

Oleg Markov’s 2023 stats:

* Played in the most games and wins of his career
* Signed on as an SSP rookie after training with both Collingwood and Carlton in the summer
Ash Johnson...you beauty
Johnson Screamer @ https://www.afl.com.au/video/931485/joh ... -epic-mark? ❤️️
shawthing
Been liked: 56 times

Post by shawthing »

Grow the mo back again Oleg! Don't tempt fate. :D
Presti35
Has liked: 163 times
Been liked: 59 times

Post by Presti35 »

Will he change numbers from 37? He won a flag wearing it after all.
A Goal Saved Is 2 Goals Earned!
Bucks5
Been liked: 11 times

Post by Bucks5 »

Keegan & Co podcast: OLEG MARKOV - Helpless and alone to Grand Final Premiers

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I2s6-JwTi2U

The podcast provides an interesting insight into the man and the club. I was pleasantly surprised by how well Oleg articulated himself.

Do yourself a favour and have a listen when you have a spare 1.5 hours.
How would Siri know when to answer "Hey Siri" unless it is listening in to everything you say?
Been liked: 29 times

Post by BazBoy »

I did listen to Oleg and how refreshing to hear his outlook on not only footy but life itself
I'm not arguing--just explaining why i am right
Has liked: 128 times
Been liked: 191 times

He's a great lad and a much loved clubman.

It's crazy to think he still wasn't on our list this time last year. How quickly fortunes can change.
Take_a_Screamer

This is funny...

Gift wrapping CHAOS as Markov Madness takes reign
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RL_dag5hsEg
Ash Johnson...you beauty
Presti35
Has liked: 163 times
Been liked: 59 times

Post by Presti35 »

A Goal Saved Is 2 Goals Earned!
Take_a_Screamer

^^ ripper of a show
Ash Johnson...you beauty
Has liked: 14 times
Been liked: 28 times

Post by pietillidie »

Bruce Gonsalves wrote:
Jezza wrote:His enthusiasm is so infectious :D

So excited is Oleg, He's even wearing a boot on his donger!!!!
Haha I was just laughing at his third leg!
In the end the rain comes down, washes clean the streets of a blue sky town.
Help Nick's: http://www.magpies.net/nick/bb/fundraising.htm
Been liked: 29 times

Post by BazBoy »

I'm not arguing--just explaining why i am right
Charlie Oneeye
Has liked: 17 times
Been liked: 14 times

Post by Charlie Oneeye »

Most talented young AFL players show promise, most have trouble taking the next step, some manage to hang onto a list spot longer than average, Markov at 26 was one of them.

Now at age 27, I reckon we have only scratched the surface…blessed with raw talent, he seems to have far more ability and potential than what we have expected from him, there is more to come. He could prove to be a rare pickup.

(edit: first 4 years on a strong Richmond list, next 2 years for unstable Gold Coast, He may have slipped through the net... A Hine special)
Bucks5
Been liked: 11 times

Post by Bucks5 »

He was not a Hine special.

Fly coached him at Richmond and encouraged him to come and try to earn a spot. He talks about it in the Keegan & Co podcast that I linked a few posts above.
How would Siri know when to answer "Hey Siri" unless it is listening in to everything you say?